Awards 2017

DSAT are excited to announce that this year’s Awards ceremony will be held on Friday 30th June 2017 at the Leicester City King Power Stadium. Schools will be asked to nominate children and adults the week after half term and final judging will take place after Easter.

We will have a number of appealing sponsorship packages available again, and look forward to welcoming some very special guest presenters. Special thanks to this year's sponsors:

Moir Wade Design Ltd.

To take a look at last year’s event, keep reading…

Awards 2016

Coba Education - Official ceremony hosts of DSAT End of Year Awards 2016


It was another magnificent evening for children, staff and the wider community of all the schools in DSAT at our third annual School’s Awards Ceremony on Friday 1st July. Over 450 guests attended the event at the Leicester Marriott Hotel and Discovery Schools Academy Trust is extremely proud of the outstanding talents and achievements of all the nominees and winners.

We were delighted to welcome some very special guests who kindly gave up their time to present awards – the Rt Hon Nicky Morgan, MP and Secretary of State for Education; Steve Walsh, Leicester City Football legend; Dr Iain Barber, Senior Lecturer in Animal Biology at the University of Leicester; Dave Bartram, founder member Showaddywaddy; Michaela Butter MBE, Director of Attenborough Arts Centre; author Jonathan Emmett; Steve Harris, Wellbeing Education; the Rt Hon Edward Garnier, MP for Harborough, Oadby and Wigston; Prof Surinder Sharma, High Sheriff of Leicestershire; Helen Stockhill, Leicestershire Governor Development Services, representatives from UNISON; Chris Wheatley, CEO of the Flying High Multi Academy Trust; and our sponsors.

We are extremely grateful to our principal sponsor, Coba, and all the industry leaders who were involved – Simply Education, YMD Boon, MHA MacIntryre Hudson, Michelmores, Moir Wade Bespoke Interiors, Santander, Talk Straight, Rahmqvist UK and Cavalry - without them this event simply could not happen. Also thanks to the Headteachers of all ten of our schools that took part, the dance troupes and choir who provided entertainment, the countless people who worked behind the scenes to help make the evening a success, and CEO Paul Stone, whose vision it was to hold the awards.

But above all we thank and congratulate all our nominees and winners - we are immensely proud of their efforts. Below is the highlights video of the evening and a list of the winners:

Children's Awards 2016

Sports Personality of the Year

Sileby Redlands
Sports Personality of the Year 2016

Team of the Year

Bude Fundraising Team, Sileby Redlands
Team of the Year 2016

Young Musician of the Year

Asfordby Captain's Close
Young Musician of the Year 2016

Maths Magician of the Year

Parkland Primary
Maths Magician of the Year 2016

Artist of the Year

Greystoke Primary
Artist of the Year 2016

Science and Engineering Award

Barwell CE Academy
Science and Engineering Award 2016

Humanitarian of the Year

Greystoke Primary
Humanitarian of the year Award 2016

Leading Performer of the Year

Parkland Primary
Leading Performer of the Year 2016

Wicked Writer

Farndon Fields
Wicked Writer 2016

Outstanding Contribution Award

Kibworth C of E Primary
Outstanding Contribution Award 2016

Adult's Awards 2016

Adult's Outstanding Contribution Award

Belinda Tapp, Farndon Fields
Adult's Outstanding Contribution Award 2016

Best New Teacher Award

Lizzie Wright, Kibworth C of E Primary
Best New Teacher Award 2016

Most exciting teaching Innovation Award

Lisa Gackowska, Asfordby Captain's Close
Most exciting teaching Innovation Award 2016

Support Staff of the Year Award

Sharon Duvan, Mowmacre Hill Primary
Support Staff of the Year Award 2016

Most supportive Governor Award

Eddie Steans, Danemill Primary
Most supportive Governor Award 2016

Best Class Mentor of the Year

Tim Gilbert, Mowmacre hill Primary
Best Class Mentor of the Year 2016

Most Improved Class Award

Mowmacre Hill Primary EYFS 1, Vicki Peacock
Most Improved Class Award 2016

Most Supportive Parents of the Year

Sarah Charnock, Woolden Hill Primary
Most Supportive Parent of the Year 2016

Effective Leadership Award

Simon Toole, Danemill Primary
Effective Leadership Award 2016

Community Team of the Year

LCFC Premier League Reading Stars, Danemill Primary Community Team of the Year 2015

Jack Adcock Award

Anne Joyce, Affinity Teaching School Alliance
Jack Adcock Award 2016

Official partners 2016

Santander YMD Boon Ltd Simply Education
Schools Broadband
Macintye Hudson
Moir Wade Design Ltd.
Cavalry Design